What is ISO?

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is internationally acknowledged organization, which develops and publishes technical, industrial and commercial standards.

It is a non-governmental, independent organization, that is active in more than 165 countries. This makes them the world’s largest developer of international standards. The most popular standards focus on the areas of:

  • Quality Management
  • Information Security
  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Environmental Management
  • Risk Management
  • Business Continuity
  • and many more!

If compliant with the set standards, your organization can be ISO certified. Let us take you through the most essential standards.

What is ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 family focuses on quality management. These standards have a strong focus on demonstrating the ability to consistently provide products/services that meet both customer and regulatory requirements. It is the most implemented standard, by more than 1 million organizations worldwide.

ISO 9001:2015

This is the most recent version of this standard. It focuses on the following areas of quality management:

by ASQ

Need more information about ISO 9001:2005? Read top management’s view on this standard.

What is ISO 45000?

These standards focuse on improving employee safety, reducing workplace risks and creating better, safer working conditions. The essential standard in this family is ISO 45001.

ISO 45001:2018

This standard specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system, and gives guidance for its use, to enable organizations to provide safe and healthy workplaces by preventing work-related injury and ill health, as well as by proactively improving its OH&S performance.

Want to know how to handle workplace accidents in practice? Learn how to set up incident reporting in your organization. 

What is ISO/IEC 27000?

This family of standards handles information security management. The use of these standards enables organizations of any kind to manage the security of assets such as financial information, intellectual property, employee details or information entrusted by third parties.

ISO 27001

This is the most popular standard within this family. Its objective is to protect the confidentiality, integrity and authority of your organization’s information.

References and further resources: